Understanding the chakras, how they work and becoming acutely aware with our own energy centers is so important in developing inner awareness and intuition of the spirit and body. They play a key role in my own psychic abilities, maintaining their vital energy through cleansing and being able to control and protect them when I am giving readings.

The word Chakra comes from Sanskrit, meaning “wheel” or “disk and are metaphysical energy centers or vortices located throughout the body. There are 7 major chakras that run along the spine closely associated with a specific organ or endocrine gland.

These spinning vortices of energy are part of the subtle energy system, which forms the basis of an ancient Indian approach to healing our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual selves. Traditionally depicted as lotus flowers, each resonating at different frequencies and corresponding to the colors of the rainbow, the chakras when balanced provide us with a vital flow of energy.

Although there are many chakras found throughout the human body such as in our hands and feet, we usually refer to the 7 major ones metaphysically embedded in the spine which are like cones, the wider opening facing outward in front of us and the smaller opening towards the back.

So let me review with you some of the basics of the 7 major Chakras!


The Root Chakra (1st)

Sanskrit name: Muladhara, meaning Root or Support
Location: Base of Spine just above the tip of the tailbone.
Color: Red
Note: C
Element: Earth
Endocrine Gland: Adrenals
Psychic Function: Survival, Security, Vitality, Stability, Individuality, Courage
Too Open (spins too fast): Bullying, overly materialistic, self-centered, engages in physical foolhardiness
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): emotionally needy, low self-esteem, self-destructive behavior, fearful
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): demonstrates self-mastery, high physical energy, grounded, healthy

The Sacral Chakra (2nd)
Sanskrit name: Svadhisthana, meaning Sweetness
Location: Lower abdomen, about an inch and a half below the navel
Color: Orange
Note: D
Element: Water
Endocrine Gland: Gonads
Psychic Function: Emotions, Feelings, Sensuality, Sexuality (although not just limited to this chakra, sexuality is experienced on all levels), Clairsentience (clear feeling of energy)
Too Open (spins too fast): emotionally unbalanced, a fantasist, manipulative, sexually addictive
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): over sensitive, hard on self, feels guilty for no reason, frigid or impotent
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): trusting, expressive, attuned to own feelings, creative

The Solar Plexus Chakra (3rd)
Sanskrit name: Manipura, meaning Lustrous gem
Location: Solar plexus, base of sternum, just below where rib cage meets
Color: Yellow
Note: E
Element: Fire
Endocrine Gland: Pancreas
Psychic Function: Energy distribution, personal power, will, self control
Too Open (spins too fast): angry, controlling, workaholic, judgemental and superior
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): overly concerned with what others think, fearful of being alone, insecure, needs constant reassurance
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): Respects self and others, has personal power, spontaneous, uninhibited


The Heart Chakra (4th)
Sanskrit name: Anahata, meaning Sound that is made without any two things striking; unstruck
Location: Center of chest
Color: Green
Note: F
Element: Air
Endocrine Gland: Thymus
Psychic Function: Affinity, the ability to be yourself while you are at one with another, Love, acceptance, relationships, Compassion, Harmony
Too Open (spins too fast): possessive, loves conditionally, withholds emotionally “to punish”, overly dramatic
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): fears rejection, loves too much, feels unworthy to receive love, self pitying
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): Compassionate, loves unconditionally, nurturing, desires spiritual experience in lovemaking


The Throat Chakra (5th)
Sanskrit name: Vishuddha, meaning Purification
Location: Centrally at base of neck.Color: Blue
Note: G
Element: Ether
Endocrine Gland: Thyroid
Psychic Function: all levels of communication – clairaudience (clear hearing of energy), inner voice, telepathy, pragmatic intuition, trust, speech, creative expression
Too Open (spins too fast): over talkative, dogmatic, self righteous, arrogant
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): holds back from self expression, unreliable, holds inconsistent views
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): Good communicator, contented, finds it easy to meditate, artistically inspired


The Third Eye Chakra (6th)
Sanskrit name: Ajna, meaning To perceive, to know
Location: above and between the eyebrows behind the forehead, the center
Color: Indigo
Note: A
Element: Light/Telepathic Energy
Endocrine Gland: Pituitary
Psychic Function: Deals with higher and deeper levels of perceptions, clairvoyance (clear seeing of energy) and abstract intuition, imagination, self realization
Too Open (spins too fast): highly logical, dogmatic, authoritarian, arrogant
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): undisciplined, fears success, tendency toward schizophrenia, sets sights too low
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): Charismatic, hi
ghly intuitive, not attached to material things, may experience unusual phenomena


The Crown Chakra (7th)
Sanskrit name: Sahasrara, meaning Thousandfold
Location: at top of the head
Color: Violet
Note: B
Element: Thought, cosmic energy
Endocrine Gland: Pineal
Psychic Function: Cosmic consciousness, intuitive knowing, knowingness, wisdom, awareness, higher self, inspiration
Too Open (spins too fast): psychotic or manic depressive, confused sexual expression, frustrated, sense of unrealized power
Blocked (spins sluggishly or not at all): constantly exhausted, can’t make decisions, no sense of “belonging”
Balanced (maintains equilibrium and spins at correct vibrational speed): Magnetic personality, achieves “miracles” in life, transcendent, at peace with self


Having read these characteristics of each chakra, are you resonating with any of them? In which areas are you finding yourself blocked, too open or balanced?Knowing these gives us the opportunity to examine within, cleanse and take the initiative to create a more balanced life.


The chakras can be constantly bombarded with tons of energies that don’t belong to us and don’t serve us in any way, causing the imbalances we may be experiencing in our lives. It’s important to take responsibility for your own ability to keeping this space nice and clean, especially if you want to begin working on your own psychic abilities.


You are in control of your own mind, body and spirit and owning the power of our chakras brings forth the magic we have in living a truly harmonic and peaceful life.


The chakra system has developed into a rich, valuable explanation of the holistic nature of humankind. It outlines how, in order to maintain a healthy, balanced life, we must attend not just to certain physical dysfunctions that may occur but to our emotional, intellectual, and spiritual needs as well. We can connect to Source through our Chakras, bringing forth a greater dimension of spirit into our lives!